Home / Science / SpaceX Dragon Capsule Aborts Cargo Delivery to Space Station

SpaceX Dragon Capsule Aborts Cargo Delivery to Space Station

A SpaceX Dragon load boat packaged with scarcely 3 tons of reserve aborted a eventuality to a International Space Station early Wednesday (Feb. 22) due to a navigation program glitch, NASA officials said. The supply boat will now aim for a Thursday attainment during a station.

The unpiloted Dragon capsule aborted a proceed to a space hire during 3:25 a.m. EST (0825 GMT) when it rescued an improper value in a relations tellurian positioning complement program used to pinpoint a place in a sky with a orbiting lab, NASA orator Rob Navias pronounced during live commentary. The booster was about 1,200 meters — only over seven-tenths of a mile — from a hire when a glitch occurred, he added.

At no indicate were a astronauts and cosmonauts aboard a space hire in any danger, Navias said.

“Dragon itself is in glorious shape,” Navias said. “It did accurately what it was designed to do, violation out of a eventuality proceed when it saw an improper value.” [In Photos: SpaceX’s Dragon Launch to Space Station]

Navias pronounced a navigation program emanate can be corrected by SpaceX engineers, permitting Dragon to broach a 5,500 lbs. (2,500 kilograms) of reserve to a space station’s organisation early Thursday. Dragon launched toward a space hire Sunday (Feb. 19) atop a SpaceX Falcon 9 rocket that carried off from NASA’s ancestral Pad 39A during a Kennedy Space Center, a initial for a Hawthorne, Calif.-based spaceflight company. The goal is SpaceX’s tenth load smoothness moody for NASA.

“Dragon is in good health and will make another eventuality try with a @Space_Station Thursday morning,” SpaceX representatives wrote in a Twitter post. The load boat is following a preplanned “race track” trail that will move it behind in operation for a advancing tomorrow, NASA officials said.

The 24-hour check will not adversely impact any of a scholarship or reserve aboard Dragon, Navias said. The scholarship rigging on a booster includes several biological experiments.

Dragon is now scheduled to arrive during a space hire and be prisoner by a robotic arm during 6 a.m. EST (1100 GMT) on Thursday. NASA will promote a eventuality on NASA TV commencement during 4 a.m. EST (0900 GMT), and you can watch that Dragon attainment webcast here, pleasantness of NASA. A follow-up promote during 8 a.m. EST (1300 GMT) will cover Dragon’s connection to a station’s Earth-facing Harmony module.

Meanwhile, another load boat — this one from Russia —is creation a approach to a International Space Station.  

The automated Progress 66 resupply boat launched toward a station early Wednesday during 12:58 a.m. EST (0558 GMT), only hours forward of SpaceX’s designed Dragon arrival. A Russian Soyuz rocket launched a load boat from Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan.

Progress 66 is packaged with 3 some-more tons of reserve for a space station’s six-person crew. It is Russia’s initial Progress supply boat to fly given the detriment of a Progress 65 load ship shortly after a launch on Dec. 1, 2016.

Progress 66 will arrive during a space hire on Friday (Feb. 24) during 3:34 a.m. EST (2034 GMT). NASA’s live coverage of that eventuality will start during 2:45 a.m. EST (0745 GMT). 

Editor’s note: This story was updated during 6:35 a.m. ET to scold a advancing date for Russia’s Progress 66. It is Friday, Feb. 24, not Feb. 23.

Email Tariq Malik during tmalik@space.com or follow him @tariqjmalik and Google+. Follow us @Spacedotcom, Facebook and Google+. Original essay on Space.com.

Article source: http://www.space.com/35791-spacex-dragon-aborts-space-station-arrival.html

InterNations.org