Home / Science / ‘Tunguska’-Size Asteroid Makes Surprise Flyby of Earth

‘Tunguska’-Size Asteroid Makes Surprise Flyby of Earth

An asteroid identical in stretch to one that exploded some-more than 100 years ago in Russia’s Tunguska segment in Siberia gave Earth a tighten trim on Sunday (April 15), only one day after astronomers detected a object.

The asteroid, designated 2018 GE3, done a closest proceed to Earth during around 2:41 a.m. EDT (0641 GMT), whizzing by during a stretch of 119,400 miles (192,000 kilometers), or about half a normal stretch between Earth and a moon, according to NASA’s Center for Near Earth Object Studies (CNEOS).

NASA estimated that this asteroid measures 157 to 360 feet (48 to110 meters) wide, creation a space stone adult to 3.6 times a stretch of a one that intended 500,000 acres (2,000 block kilometers) of Siberian timberland when it exploded over Tunguska in 1908. [Gallery: Potentially Dangerous Asteroids]

Amateur astronomer Michael Jäger of Weißenkirchen, Austria prisoner this video of asteroid 2018 GE3 zooming by a constellation Serpens on Apr 14 during 7:20 p.m. EDT (2320 GMT). The asteroid done a closest proceed to Earth on Apr 15 during 2:41 a.m. EDT (0641 GMT).
Credit: Michael Jäger

This newfound asteroid is 3 to 6 times as vast as another new meteor, a one that broke adult over Chelyabinsk, Russia, in 2013. That intent harmed some-more than 1,200 people and shop-worn thousands of buildings adult to 58 miles (93 km) divided from a impact site.

“If 2018 GE3 had strike Earth, it would have caused regional, not global, damage, and competence have disintegrated in a atmosphere before reaching a ground,” SpaceWeather.com reported. “Nevertheless, it is a poignant asteroid, illustrating how even vast space rocks can still take us by surprise. 2018 GE3 was found reduction than a day before a closest approach.”

A blueprint shows a circuit of asteroid 2018 GE3, that flew by Earth on Apr 15, 2018.
Credit: NASA JPL

The asteroid 2018 GE3 was initial speckled on Saturday (April 14) during 5:23 a.m. EDT (0923 GMT) by astronomers during a Catalina Sky Survey, a NASA-sponsored module formed during a University of Arizona in Tucson. This initial sighting occurred only 21 hours before a asteroid’s closest proceed to Earth.

Email Hanneke Weitering during hweitering@space.com or follow her @hannekescience. Follow us @Spacedotcom, Facebook and Google+. Original essay on Space.com.

Article source: https://www.space.com/40315-asteroid-2018-ge3-surprise-flyby.html

InterNations.org

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

*