Home / Sports / Atlanta qualifying: It’s a Kyle and Kurt Busch front row

Atlanta qualifying: It’s a Kyle and Kurt Busch front row

Federated Auto Parts 400

The Busch brothers should have been starting first and second again. But they’re not.

Kyle Busch beat his brother Kurt Busch for the pole during Friday’s qualifying session at Atlanta. But Kyle’s car failed inspection after qualifying and his time was disallowed.

Kyle Busch ran a lap of 191.668 MPH while Kurt ran a lap of 191.582 MPH. The brothers have started in the front row previously in 2013 and 2009.

Jamie McMurray qualified third while Trevor Bayne was fourth. They move up a spot (as does everyone else) because of Kyle Busch’s failed inspection. 39 cars are entered for Sunday’s race, so everyone qualified. The number is one short of a full 40-car field in the Cup Series. Many fans were dismayed by the three-car cut in field size for the 2016 season, but it’s a moot point when there aren’t any cars going home after qualifying.

Here’s the full list. Joey Logano, last year’s polesitter, qualified 27th.

1. Kyle Busch (now starts last, everyone moves up a spot)
2. Kurt Busch
3. Jamie McMurray
4. Trevor Bayne
5. Ryan Newman
6. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
7. Kevin Harvick
8. Carl Edwards
9. Austin Dillon
10. Martin Truex Jr.
11. Brian Scott
12. Kasey Kahne
13. Denny Hamlin
14. Matt Kenseth
15. Greg Biffle
16. Casey Mears
17. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
18. Brad Keselowski
19. Ty Dillon
20. Jimmie Johnson
21. Kyle Larson
22. Paul Menard
23. AJ Allmendinger
24. Ryan Blaney
25. Chase Elliott
26. Danica Patrick
27. Joey Logano
28. Aric Almirola
29. Clint Bowyer
30. Landon Cassill
31. Regan Smith
32. Chris Buescher
33. Michael McDowell
34. David Ragan
35. Michael Annett
36. Matt DiBenedetto
37. Cole Whitt
38. Josh Wise
39. Jeffrey Earnhardt

– – – – – – –

Nick Bromberg is the editor of From The Marbles on Yahoo Sports. Have a tip? Email him at nickbromberg@yahoo.com or follow him on Twitter!